Stages of labour

There are three distinct stages of labour;

First stage this begins when the cervix begins to open (dilate) and is complete when the cervix is dilated to about 10cm

Second stage – this is the period from when the cervix is fully dilated to when the baby is born

Third stage – starts from when your baby is born to when the placenta has been delivered

Understanding the distinct stages of labour can help you know what is happening with your body and how your labour is progressing.

For more information;

The Royal Women’s Hospital – Stages of labour

Pregnancy Birth & Baby – Giving birth – first stage of labour

Better Health Channel – Pregnancy – labour

Maternity Choices Australia – Bearing down or directed pushing

Maternity Choices Australia – Labour in water

Maternity Choices Australia – Pre-labour rupture of membranes

Maternity Choices Australia – The third stage of labour